An Autumn Garden

In earlier years its always a relief to turn the calendar over to March.  March means autumn, a relief from the heat and a little less time watering the garden.  This year has been different.  Summer was wet and surprisingly cool.  The garden has produced such a bounty this year, much more than I expected.  Endless carrots, beans and just enough tomatoes to freeze a small supply of sauce for the next few months of the ‘between season famine’.  Oh and see the basil there at the front?  Most of it has gone to seed now but a few plants I will chop back to below the seeds.  Then in a few weeks there will be another batch of basil to harvest and turn into pesto.  Not that I haven’t already got a freezer full of green goodness.

With the tomatoes looking tired and full of fruit fly, it was time to pull them out.  Compost went in and chicken-poo-infused mulch on top.  The big gap in the garden will be filled later today with the first of this winters brocoli plants.  I brought a punnet and will share half of them with the neighbour so 4 plants will go in.  I figure that buying in the stock will put me 4 -6 weeks ahead than if I sowed my own.  Meanwhile I still have 3 trays in the propagation box germinating (hopefully) as I type.  Which will be ready for planting out in about 1 month.  This will be a follow-up crop.

Also in the propagation box I have cauliflowers, onions, parsnips (they’ll  be directly sown but their space is now occupied so I will try transplanting them…)  mini cabbage and Calendula.  The Calendula are for some winter colour and I’m busting to make some Calendula cream.  (I found a recipe at Rhondas ‘Down to Earth’)

I’m enjoying my current gardening style, when something goes out, something must go in.  Be it a few lettuce seedlings from the nursery (ready to eat in just a few weeks)  to climbing peas that replaced the carrots.  I am trying to space out plantings, to avoid that glut as I’ve had in earlier years.  Only putting in 1 tomato plant and when it starts flowering the next went in and so on.  I do the same with dwarf beans.  To date this has worked amazingly.  A steady supply of food is flowing into my kitchen and our bellies!

One thought on “An Autumn Garden

Comments are closed.