A Little Farm Planting Guide for Summer Vegetables

I am so excited about this years approaching summer months.  For the first time since building our Raised Vegetable Gardens I have a planting guide that I think might actually work for a continual harvest!  Like many gardeners we have a big glut at the height of summer and then a little until the winter harvest.  Frustrating I must say.  Add to this my time being limited with the family I decided I needed to have a plan on paper.

To make the gardens work for me this year, I began by listing all the vegetables we like to eat over summer, an estimate of how much I think we will eat each week and a list of seeds I will need. ~ My two favourite reference books are Annette MacFarlanes ‘Organic Vegetable Garden’  and Yates ‘Garden Guide’ .  Finally to the list, I added how long it would take each plant to begin producing. 

This is what I ended up with

Next up I mapped what will go where in each garden.  I have 5 raised beds here at Little Farm.  Each bed is 1m wide by 3m long and follows a yearly rotation.  Along with the beds I have many 100L pots.  Last year one of these pots is what grew the great pumpkin vine!

So there it is, my great plan for summer 2011.  How have you planned your summer garden?

3 thoughts on “A Little Farm Planting Guide for Summer Vegetables

  1. wow I love it, I want to do the same, my planting is sporadic and random and we seem to go from glut to famine to glut again! I look forward to hearing how it works out for you….

  2. I would love to get to the point of wicking beds, because our clay soils need a lot of work to start harvesting decent crops. We’re turning our veg patch into a space for fruit trees and planting perenienl veg under those. It’s going to be a few more years until we reach a continual crop stage.

    I hope your strategic planning works, as I’ve seen your wicking beds produce some good crops. As long as the weather cooperates, LOL, it should be a good turnover. Looking forward to the updates.

    By the way, I’ve nominated you for an award on my blog. 🙂

  3. OMG Emily this has developed so much! Your site is awesome! I am passing it on to my mother in law (Cheryl) who will be most pleased with the helpful vegetable garden advice and spot to sell her craft. Thank you for sharing & keep it up! Love Clairex

Comments are closed.