Choko Pickles

Seems it was only a few weeks ago I was wondering here if I would ever get Chokos on the tiny vine I planted to shade the Chook Pen.  Well worry I need not! 

It seemed at one point we had over 30 of the things in a huge pile on the kitchen bench.  Now there is only so many steamed, stewed, boiled and roasted chokos a family can eat before they start begging “No more!”  And neighbours stop answering the door in fear of another bag full.  (One neighbour chopped them up into her homemade dog food!)

So in desperation I began looking for other creative ways to use them up.  In my favorite cookbook circa 1944 I found ‘the recipe.’  Could it be the answer to my pleas?

Choko Pickles (aka Chutney)  this is exactly as it appears in the book

Peel and cut up 8 Chokos, sprinkle with salt and let stand for 24 hours, drain well.  Peel 3 lb. onions and slice.  Prepare 1/4 peck French Beans.  Sprinkle with salt and let stand for 12 hours.  Drain well.  Put 2 quarts of vinegar on to boil, add 2 ozs. ground ginger, 1 oz. whole pepper, 2 ozs. whole spice, 2 or 3 chillis, 2 lb. white sugar (spices must be tied in bag).  When vinegar, etc, comes to boil add chokos, onions and beans; boil till chokos are soft.   With some of the 2 quarts of vinegar mix together 1 cup flour, 2 desertspoons of mustard, 2 ozs. curry powder,  add to chokos and boil 5 minutes stirring constantly.  Remove from stove, cool and bottle.  Beans maybe omitted.

So over the 2 days I made choko pickles. How did they turn out?  Delicious!  To quote the husband ‘Anything will taste good with that much spice and vinegar ‘  Guess who has them on bacon and eggs, steak and every sandwich at lunch….  Yes one word delicious.

So if you would like to try your hand at this come next choko season here are a few recommendations

  • Wear gloves when peeling chokos, otherwise you will end up with a superglue like coating on your hands that takes 2 days to get off!
  • Overnight is fine to soak the chokos.  If it is hot they may begin to ferment.
  • A food processor is a good idea to chop the onions as 3 lb.  /1.5kg is a lot
  • I added cauliflower to our mix
  • Chop everything up very small, about 1cm squares
  • This recipe will make 3 or 4 No.20 Fowler jars
  • Do not eat it straight away as the vinegar will take your breath away (yes learnt from experience)

And finally   ~  ENJOY  ~

 

6 thoughts on “Choko Pickles

  1. Hey, those pickles look awsome! My choko vine has produced 4 fruit this winter and I’ve always read they died back in winter? Thanks for the tip about wearing gloves, as I was thinking of making some stuff with choko too. Will share my recipe when I get around to it.

    By the way, from memory, Choko chuntey/pickles were always delicious. The bland flavour of choko, really takes up the flavour of the spices added. Once you make them, you find you avoid the condament aisles in the supermarket altogether. 😉

  2. I got a good laugh from your post…we call them chayote squash in the USA…when my kids where little my dad gave me one and said to plant it and see what happens. My husband had just finished building a pergola over the kid’s sandbox in the side yard and we thought the chayote would make a nice shade vine. It did provide wonderful shade but it got so many chayotes on it that it became dangerous for the kids to play in the sandbox because when you least expected it one would get too heavy and fall down! The next year we moved it to a safer location. You have an interesting blog. I’ve enjoyed browsing around.

  3. Such a brilliant post – from the vine to the kitchen bench to the preserving jar – with a recipe thrown in! AND it’s from the last century! What more can I say, except thank you for sharing, and keep up the great quality – this is what it is all about!

  4. Hi Chris yes they do die right back at winter, but just wait come spring the shoots will come and then the fruit! I still have fruit waiting to be used up, they keep so well.
    I might share some more recipes come spring time.

  5. Hi Patti – I can imagine they fruit falling! They get so big so quickly. Our vine is growing over the chook pen, which is perfect. Only trouble the fruit grow through the wire and get stuck! Thanks for stopping by – Em

  6. Hi Brendan, thanks for stopping by. I love love my old cook books, I am starting to get a small stack of them now, but this one in particular is my favourite.
    Glad to read you enjoyed this post, they are few and far between at the moment.

Comments are closed.