Raised Wicking Beds – revised 2011

When we first created our raised wicking beds, I honestly had no idea what to expect.  I read dozens of articles, forums and blogs, I thought I knew what we were doing.

 

Now 3 years on we are re-lining our beds and making a few changes.

  • Our beds have the plastic go right to the top.  Why? Kikuya.  If you have never experienced Kikuya, you are oh so lucky.  It can grow anywhere and once it is in the garden it can difficult to get rid off.  So our plastic goes right to the top, with holes for water overflowing about 20cm up the side. (During the 2011 Jan floods we had over 200mm of rain and the gardens were fine)
  • Corrugated Iron is sharp, a plastic cover is a good idea – old green hoses get weak in the sun, 10mm black irrigation pipe cable tied on is best.
  • Regular watering.  Over summer I’ve found the ends of the beds dry out quickly.  To combat this and create a few extra hours in my week, we have installed pipes under the soil and drip irrigation on the top – more about this later
  • Good quality plastic is best, I’ve used 200um.  Two of the beds the plastic has deteriorated, they’ve been made with 100um or poorer quality plastic.
  • Add worms to your garden,  they truly are great workers

Do you have raised beds?  Do you have any other advice that to pass on?

3 thoughts on “Raised Wicking Beds – revised 2011

  1. It’s looking good. If you want to feed your worms I use bagged horse stable manure. They love it. Any bed that is not being used I try to cover with 3 to 4 inches of the stuff then after a couple of weeks i turn it in. Hugh increase in worm population and a dramatic increase in moisture holding. I’ll have to do a post about it.

  2. What great ideas! I much rather use coconut coir than peat, it is a renewable source. I might try it out in the next garden, I seriously cannot get enough organic matter into this soil!

Comments are closed.