Food Shortage = Rations

* I write this not meaning to sound disrespecting to the victims of the floods or the people who are currently facing them.  I am writing this as my  point of view, what is currently happening here, in my town.  This is also what others will be  facing and what can happen again in just a heartbeat…..

It is rather a sad site to see, so many people walking out of grocery stores, in recent days, with food and water piled high in their trolleys.  So many it seems are being greedy and taking more than they need.  Is that too harsh?  I don’t know.  But with the rain, came the floods, next the roads are all impassable – from all directions, we are isolated.  Many roads are now non-existent, along with deliveries.  Milk is no longer available, even powdered milk.  Meat is also another item that is becoming hard to find.  Next on the shortage list is fresh fruit and vegetables.  Don’t even try to buy potatoes at the moment….

People are panicking.  Stockpiling.  There is an article here from todays Chronicle.

Me?  I feel ‘slightly’ secure.  We have eggs, more than we can eat.  My garden is still – slowly pumping out beans, tomatoes, cucumbers, herbs, kale (if the chooks will leave it alone) snow peas and occasional strawberries.  I have a lot of dried goods in the cupboard and a small stockpile of tinned food and long life goods.  Also the freezer has a small supply of meat and bread.  Yes I can say that I am prepared.  There is an article in the paper about older generations that would have the ‘staples’ in their pantries, so this panic buying would not be the case.  You can read it here.  My mother-in-law lives week-to-week with food.  Often her pantry is all but bare.  I could not live like that, especially with 3 children to feed.   

Meanwhile, now the rain has cleared for a few days, I am out to the garden to start the clean up and begin planting seeds….  

Are you concerned about the food shortage that is too come in future months?  And how will it impact your family?  What are your plans to deal with this?

4 thoughts on “Food Shortage = Rations

  1. Personally I am increasing my stockpile of dry goods. My plan will be to keep 10kg of our main flours on hand, about 6 months worth, as I am reasonably sensitive to wheat and our preferred flour type became hard to get around 3-6 months ago. I need to check through our dried bean store again, for variety, but since I know overall I have enough it hasn’t been on the urgent list.

    Above and beyond that I have been preserving everything I can get my hands on. It’s looking like real slim pickings garden wise this year so I am actively investigating sources for bulk produce. We are also replacing the chickens that got taken a while ago within the week (its been organised for a while and just fell this way). Overall if we were thrown onto our own resources tomorrow we would be ok, probably a little bored but reasonably nutritionally balanced.

    I might be being a little Tinkerbell but I suspect rather than people being greedy I suspect they simply have no idea how much they really “need”. It’s that ignorance that is tripping their “more is better” consumer button.. just watch people on Christmas eve, the shops are only closed for one day and you end watching overloaded trolley after overloaded trolley.

    Kind Regards
    Belinda

  2. i am glad to hear you guys are ok,
    i have to agree with Belinda, with the whole Christmas trolley comment, the shops close for one day & people think its the end of the world.
    i dont think people know how to stock their pantry let alone eat from it properly. it is a skill most have lost, every thing is just so convenient now a days.
    as for us well i always have a very well stocked pantry & freezer, i haven’t shopped since the 23 December, other than bread & milk & could probably be ok for another 1 or 2 weeks. back to work on Monday so i will shop again at the end of the week i dont like to let things get too bare, you just never know whats just around the corner

  3. We haven’t had a food shortage in our devastated region. We’ve had neighbours open their pantries to each other. Why let food go off in the freezer, because the power isn’t on, when you can have a big community cook-off?

    When I managed to brave a trip into town to stay with a friend, they all told me they were forced to eat junk food because that’s all that was available. I brought a box of food from my own pantry that stayed in the cupboard (in Toowoomba) while a family of 8 scoured the local shops nearby for chips and fizzy drinks.

    I was able to drive around to find a local veggie shop a day later, which still had bottles of milk for sale, bread and fresh fruit and veggies. I bought it specifically for this family and took none of it home for ourselves. Instead, I left with the untouched box in the pantry. I guess if you cannot open it immediately and requires some preparation, it must be inedible?

    In the media, they take photos of empty shelves in the big shopping centres, and they forget there are still little shops with supplies. It’s not all doom and gloom, but people have to be prepared to get off their butts and look harder than the 2 supermarket giants, and their television screens.

    It’s been so hard for me, seeing the generosity of my community – all from our own backs, stuff you don’t see in the paper or tv. Yet we’ve been the hardest effected. We’re the ones, when we find food, that we take our fair share and nothing more – and then we share what we get, with our neighbours.

    When I visit Toowoomba, which is getting easier now they’re fixing the roads, I see a totally different mood. People are annoyed by the inconvenience. People joke about the strange phenomena of floating cars down the main street. They complain about food shortages and yet, I found food and mourn for the families lost to our community.

    I’m sorry if this sounds rather sharp, I don’t intend to hurt others. I think it’s great to talk about these things. I’ve just seen the other side of the propaganda reported in the papers.

    Am I concerned about food shortages? I was, but then my community opened themselves bare. We put everything up for grabs for all those hungry bellies. I’ve seen the difference a generous community makes to everyone’s well being. They are a godsend. If you ever get the opportunity to open up to your community, do so. Not to us, we’re doing okay down our side of the mountain, but I’m saying look to your own community and nourish people’s well being.

    I really don’t blame people for going along with the propaganda though. I mean, it’s not like people can access the areas I can. I was trapped here for several days because I happened to be here when the floods hit. When you’re on the outside, you depend on what the TV and newspapers are reporting.

    My garden didn’t produce anything during this devastation and yet I found food. Good food and good conversations. What is bare, isn’t the supermarket shelves – it’s the understanding there’s plenty of food around for those communities willing to share. 🙂

  4. It is great to hear others are also keeping stock piles for food, it needs not to be an excessive amount, but it needs to be enough to see your family though a crisis- be it natural, personnal or finnancial.
    If anything that has come out of this devestation for me, is it shows just how fragile the current way of life is. All the gas comes from two places. Water is all treated in the same plant. The towns water went down for several hours and then onto boiled water for 3 days.
    The local fresh foods growing area, the majority, all comes from one area. wow…. Sometimes in this big place it feels very isolating and ‘each-to’there-own’.

    BUT… as Chris said, the way her community opened its pantries and doors to others. What an amazing community she lives in.
    My thought again fly to you Chris your family and your communtiy.

Comments are closed.