Coping

Sometimes being a parent can be hard, oh who am I kidding it is hard.  With the pending arrival of number 3 son (13 weeks left) I am wondering how the heck I am going to cope.  How I will cope with 3 boys, cope with the school run and an unpredictable newborn, cope with the garden and a family…..

Oh yes I have endless frets, that I know will eventually work out.  But for now, I have come up with the answer to one of them.  How will I cope with keeping a clean house with 3 grubby boys?  I have a plan, a plan that makes me feel so darn clever as it is working – so I just have to share it! 

Each day a different room is cleaned.  Obviously there is everyday tasks such as washing up, laundry and such but this way the burden is spread out over the week.

MONDAY: Our bedroom.  This includes dusting, vacuuming, changing the sheets, sorting out any clutter that has accumulated over the week.

TUESDAY:  Kitchen, lounge, front room.  Dust, vacuum, sweep and mop.  Wipe down benches and cupboards, Declutter, wash cushion and lounge covers.

WEDNESDAY: Bathroom and Laundry.  Clean tub, basin and toilet.  Mop floors, straighten out cupboard contents, wash towels and mats.

THURSDAY: Backroom.  Sweep and mop floor, clean out fridge, straighten freezer and large pantry contents, write meal plan and grocery list.  Wipe down cupboards and fridge/ freezer.

FRIDAY:  Grocery day or Catch up day:  I shop once a fortnight so I have allocated this day as a ‘day off’ or else to catch up on things I have missed. 

SATURDAY:  Kids room.  Change sheets, straighten out clothes in draws, toys in cupboard and underbed.  Dust and vacuum.  Remake beds.

So this is a rough outline of my plan.  It is working well so far and I feel I don’t have to do it all in one day, thank goodness. 

One thought on “Coping

  1. You will be fine. Get yourself one of those signs that says ” A clean house is a sign of a wasted life “(or words to that effect), then if you don’t get everything done you might not feel so bad.

    And I’m very glad to see that you have no jobs ear marked for Sundays.

    Take care of yourself.
    xDeb

Comments are closed.