Luffa Lovin’

Luffa Lovin'

This is one of the 3 Luffa plants that were planted in December.  2 were eaten by the chooks (hmm I am seeing a common trend here with chooks eating plants).  So far 2 fruit have grown, I doubt there will be anymore as the weather is quickly cooling down.  Next spring I will plant the seeds out alot sooner!

 

A Kind Reminder – Can Heidi and Chris please email me their addresses so I can post off the prizes. Please email me at  littlefarminthecity@hotmail.com

4 thoughts on “Luffa Lovin’

  1. I had the same problem, the chooks ate 2 of my three Luffa plants but I didn’t even get a flower on the other one. I think maybe the spot was too shady. I will plant them out earlier next and in a different spot. Good luck x Deb

  2. Hi emily, ours were slow to get going but once they did they were quite invasive and very heavy vines, a little scary even! Anyway we have a lot sitting here waiting to be dealt with – why don’t we have a luffa processing morning and you can take some home? I have lots of seeds here too if you’d still like any 🙂

  3. I love your chook which got caught eying off the luffa’s. Mine love all manner of plants, but especially underneather my mulched fruit trees, where they get the fattest, juciest grubs.

    My araucanas almost dug up my mango tree the other week! So they’re staying enclosed in a tractor until I can build more coops.

    The garden wouldn’t be the same without chooks though. Naughty and nice, all wrapped up in one.

Comments are closed.