Chooks and worms

eggs

Worming time in the coup.  So there is now a withholding on all eggs until at least Saturday next week, we are now on egg rations.  Either of these products is what I use to treat worms:

wormers

The smaller bottle is Ivermec.  Yep the cow pour on.  No it is not organic, but it works on lice, mites and worms.  I brought mine at Herriot House vet surgery, it is a bit expensive but it beats having lice.  It can be added to the drinking water or onto the skin.  I chose the skin as I know each bird is treated.   The withholding period is at least 7 days for eggs.  I have read about people not worrying about this. (there is 2 pages on this link)  Note – you will need to speak to the Vet to get Ivermec to treat your flock, as it is treated as a prescription.  Just ring the surgery first to see if they stock it.  Be prepared to pay at least $15 for 5mls!

The other product is Piperazine Solution.  It is added to the water.  It is also for pigs!  Piperzine only treats worms.  At the time this was the only product our stock feed store had in.  It has worked well for us.  There is nil withholding period for eggs.

The girls also have cider vinegar in the water occasionally, it is a good tonic and garlic in their mash.  I prefer to use the commercial products, as being in town we have alot of sparrows (last year the buggers nested in the roof and we had mites in the house!  Most awful itchy things ever!)  Hence I am concerned the chooks may get the mites too.  And having read about some accounts of trying to get rid of mites and lice, I am happy with my choice. 

Anyone care to share what they use to Worm their flock?

3 thoughts on “Chooks and worms

  1. Well, my chooks just turned 2 weeks old yesterday…. yes, they are just “chicks” right now. I have so much to learn about raising chickens! I didn’t know that they needed to be wormed. I have a dozen pullets for egg laying.

  2. Hi Tricia and Judy.
    When chooks get worms egg production can fall, their overall health is poor and occasionally can lead to death. Worms egg can be found in the soil and also other birds, such as sparrows can spread worms, mites, lice and other such diseases.
    When new hens or roosters are purchased it is a good idea to check when they were last wormed, so you won’t get any surprise additions with your flock.
    There are many commerically available products and books such as Alannah Moores ‘Backyard Poultry’ have organic remedies for worm treatments.
    Goodluck with your worming. Emily

Comments are closed.