Look whats growing…

Bed 1

Bed 1 is growing into the a mini jungle of tomatoes, flowers, beans, capsicums, eggplants, lettuce and pak choi.

Bed 2

Bed 2

The potatoes are starting to flower now, so it won’t be long until we can start to hunt for little spuds!

Once the flowers have fully developed I will re-mulch the bed to protect the developing tubars.

 

 

 

Bbed 3

Bed 3 is looking a bit bare at the moment.  But the corn is growing.  Also another block of dwarf beans.  2 cucumber plants, that are so tiny you can barely see them and 2 zuchinni plants.  The 3rd lot of zuchinni seeds were sown today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bed 4Bed 4 is currently the barest of them all.  Currently growing is celeiac, carrots and beetroots.  The boys also sowed some Buzz Lightyear Beetroot (Yates) seeds, I am hoping they don’t expect Buzz to pop up out of the ground.

As you can see this bed has had a little bit of a cave in recently.  We sort of never got around to putting a stake in to stop. exactly this. happening.  I think it was mainly caused by me digging out the path and then leaving it for 2 weeks before I finished it!

 

 

 

 

 

Bed 5And finally Bed 5 has been started!  With the recent wet weather Tony got stuck into digging out the kikuya….  I am considering putting in 1 more bed, I think it will fit.  But lets finish this bed first. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Look whats growing…

  1. Hi Emily, this little farm is looking fantastic! We used tin for our circular garden beds too – I really like the look of it as well as being easy to construct. We call kikuyu grass bastard grass – it is so hard to get rid of! Thanks for your lovely comment on my last post – I was so relieved to know I’m not the only one who has done that! 5000 litres though – I can’t tell you how upset I am with myself! And no rain in sight. Makes me think about all those farmers living through drought. I’m off to read your vegie updates now. Jacqui

  2. Hi Jacqui
    I like your name for kikuya! It is next to impossible to stop! The only thing I can get to stop it gysophate. Its the only ‘chemical’ I use here.
    I hope it rains for you soon! 5000L is alot of water! I will keep my fingers crossed it rains soon for you!

  3. Yep Chris I am loving the gardens. I am looking forward to seeing how many spuds we can harvest… The plants are chest height now! I will mulch them again tomorrow as they are flowering now.

Comments are closed.