Container gardens

With most of the pavers/ bricks moved I could finally shift my containers into position

  1. Raspberry
  2. Loganberry & dwarf beans
  3. Young berry & dwarf beans
  4. Garlic – white & elephant
  5. Mary washington aspargus
  6. Ginger & sunflowers
  7. Strawberries
  8. Genoa Fig & chilli’s
  9. Rhubarb, parsely & silverbeet – this poor pot desperately needs to divided

The hedge in the back ground is ‘Cats Claw Creeper’ or Macfadyena unguis-cati.  It is an aggressive creeper that gets into everything!  I gave it a hard trimming back yesterday (that is why it looks awful) so hopefully that will keep it at bay for a few months. 

I really enjoy using these containers.  My husband can get them for free from a factory he does repair work on, they often have huge piles of them out the back.  If you can not find them for free like we have, try places that have boilers or they are often for sale at rural/ produce stores.  Here in Tmba, I know QPD has them for about $30 each. 

I still have another 4 pots to fill and plant up.  My coffee trees and the chocolate sapote will be going into these, so when we move (not for a few many years yet…) I will have established trees to take with me.

5 thoughts on “Container gardens

  1. Do you find that you need to water them a lot when they’re in tubs? I have some citrus in terracotta pots ready for the time when we move on but they seem to take a lot of watering. Maybe plastic would be better, less evaporation?

  2. I water them maybe once a week, in hot weather twice a week. I have a 20L watering can so they get between 20 -40L a week (sometimes less 🙂 ). They also have a thick 10 – 15cm layer of mulch on top.

    I have never had any luck growing plants in terracotta pots, the pourous pots dry the potting mix out too quickly.
    I usually sit the pots in a saucer so I can pour water in the bottom and it can wick up as it is needed.

  3. I think it’s great that you’re planning ahead – taking a great deal of the garden with you.

    Being in pots, you can also move them around during the different seasons. If they don’t do well in one spot, you can simply move them to another. Real handy with some of those more sensitive plants that don’t like frosts.

    I hear the coffee plants don’t like frosts at all.

    I was actually given one of those blue half barrels, and I planned to try a wicking bed with them. I’ve been wanting to grow lettuce or celery that absolutely hate drying out. Have you tried wicking any of the pots in your picture?

  4. Hi Chris,
    The containers being moveable is great, but they are heavy arkward things to move, it takes myself, a bag trolley and Tony to move them.
    Coffee trees have a low tolerance to frost and are easily damaged by wind. I think I will have to find a sheltered spot for them.

    I haven’t tried wicking beds in the pots. I just drill 6 holes in the bottom of them.
    I don’t see why either wouldn’t work. The blue drums would be better than styrofoam as chooks can become a bit addicted to the stuff.

    I grow celery in the ground out the front and have a terracotta pot (with the hole sealed) buried with them. I fill it with water and it wicks out to the plants.

  5. Great idea with burying the pot. Terracotta is like a sponge for moisture – drawing it all in. I never thought to try something like this for celery, so thanks for sharing.

    I just noticed my chooks love the brocolli styrofoam boxes I have around the yard too. I lifted them out of harms way for now, but I never thought chooks would eat something so tasteless as styrofoam!!

    Cheeky monkies!

Comments are closed.