Back to basics challenge

I have signed up for Belinda’s Back to basic challenge.   I will try to post each week about what I have been doing and planning on doing. 

 

The requirements are:

The Back to Basics Challenge for those who choose to accept is to report weekly or fortnightly on either their blog or in comments here on the topics of

  • Sowing seed or Planting
  • Planning for The Future – meal planning, the next seasons garden plan, working out storage plans or more long term goals and projects like plans for digging root cellars
  • Working for the Future – storing food, managing stores, preserving, building that home made cob or solar oven, adding house insulation, saving for manual grain mills etc
  • Building Community – volunteering, donations, joining an existing community group, forming your own community group, taking a cake to a friend having a hard time, calling someone you just let drift out of your life, etc
  • Learn a new Skill

 

So here we go….

Sowing seed or Planting – As seedlings come out of the propargation box more are going in.  This week I have pak choy, cucumbers, yellow cherry pear tomatoes germinating.   Later in the week I will be direct sowing pumpkin and watermelon seeds under the mulberry tree.  And maybe get a few more fruit trees in!

Planning for The Future – How to fit more gardens in and keep the chickens out.  Starting to think about Christmas gifts, especially cheaper options. 

Working for the future –  Will be putting on a home brew of beer, hoping to fix the soda stream machine so the kids can have bubbly lemon grass cordial over summer, picking and freezing the last of the mulberries.  Figuring out where to store all the spuds we will be harvesting in a few months!

Misc – Finishing bed 4, need to find some more hose for the tops of the gardens, need to drill holes in raised gardens for drainage (more about that later) Finishing chicken fence and gate, so then I can plant the pumpkins….  Trying this new pizza base recipe I discovered (the story of this couple is beautiful and so sad, our prayers and thoughts are with the Nielsons)

Building Community – Helping to prepare for our daycare centres Christmas Fair. 

Learn a new Skill – Building a gate for the chicken yard & a dirt sieve so I can finally finish bed 4, as my last one fell to pieces!  I am hopeless with a hammer and nail so this will be interesting…

 

5 thoughts on “Back to basics challenge

  1. I will join the challenge later in the week when paid work isn’t getting in the way. Well done on the diploma – no wonder you’re so knowledgeable. 🙂

  2. Thanks, I think it is a great way for me to keep track of what I am doing and planning on doing.

  3. Way to go!

    I was curious about your mentioning holes in your new wicking bed. I wonder if it had anything to do with the big downpours we’ve experienced lately?

    This is something I have pondered myself recently. I want to do all my raised beds as wicking beds – but wondered about when we got huge downpours?

    Looking forward to hearing more on your wicking bed developments. 🙂

  4. ‘Erm lets just say they did get a bit wet in the down pours. Tony is on-site working this week so when he gets back we will be fixing them….
    ~Emily

Comments are closed.