The garden site – update

We are almost ready to build the garden beds.  I have cleared all the pavers and taken out all the edging and am in the process of filling the hole in with a few barrowloads of soil. 

The shade house will be temporaily dismantled for easier storage and then we have to figure out how to move the heavy concrete tubs!  I want to grow the water chestnuts in them but the tubs are in the wrong spot….  I will let you know how it goes.

I am curently working out the thriftiest (is that even a word? lol) way to build the beds. 

We have 6 pieces of 6.1x 0.8 m corrugated iron (recycled from the old carport about 4years ago!).  I am thinking of 4 beds  3 x 1.5m or 3 x 1m.  I don’t want them too wide.  I will let you know what I decide. 

This is an image* of what they will look like.  When I first saw roundthebends photos I knew this is what I would build. 

*Image taken from

I will be using a worm wicking bed design on the inside though as we have many invasive trees whos roots love to get into pots and the vegetable gardens.  This is hard when you don’t have the water to waste on them. 

You can find details of wicking beds here or for containers here

Now to come up with a creative way to use all of these!  Any ideas?

I have altered the wicking bed link so it now takes you to the right post, sorry ~Emily

5 thoughts on “The garden site – update

  1. I wonder if you can do raised beds with the left over pavers? Just dry stacked, no mortar. You could get away with 3 or 4 high without danger of colapsing. Simply stacked the way you have them now, only do it in a rectangle or square shape. 😉

    Your apple blossoms look beautiful too. Don’t you just love Spring!

  2. Wow, these look fantastic. I would build some planter beds with the pavers as dave and chris suggested. The apple blossoms are to die for. Have a great day M

  3. Thanks Zoe, There is still so much to be done, but the gardens are finally coming together. I will have to get Tony to bring you some fresh vegies when they are ready for harvesting!
    I really appreciate you stopping by ~Em

Comments are closed.