Winter Vegies

 

Don’t you just love Winter Vegetables.  We have such a little space (at the moment) but we are growing a fair bit, not enough for eating every day but enough for the boys to enjoy peas for afternoon tea and a head of broccoli each week.  And plenty of herbs and greens. 

Current growing list – Winter Vegetables June 08 –

  • Broccoli
  • Snowball Cauliflower
  • Cabbages
  • Brussels Sprouts
  • Telephone peas
  • Snow peas (you try telling the boys you are ment to eat the whole thing!)
  • 5 purple carrots (The ants ate most of the seeds)
  • Onions
  • 4 Celery – treating it as a pick as it grows
  • Garlic
  • Lettuce
  • 1 Eggplant (it just hasn’t died back so I let it go I bet the frosts will cut it though)
  • Rainbow Chard (love it!!!!!)
  • Silverbeet

Now I am sure I have forgotten something but wow I love my list….  I find it fascinating that only 2 and a bit hours away Rhonda at down~~~to~~~earth can grow tomatoes and what we know as summer crops now, in winter.  Oh and bananas.  Does anyone know how bananas go with frost?  LOL

One thought on “Winter Vegies

  1. Pingback: Vegie garden - bed one « Little Farm in the city

Comments are closed.