The first one

Wow our first blog….  I have such high expectations about what I will be writing about and sharing with you all. 

I hope I can live up to it!

You are probably wondering who we are and what we are doing.  I am Emily, a wife, a mother of two and head chef, gardener, farmer and whatever else comes my way.  There is also my hubby and our two boys L and C who are almost 5 and just turned 3. 

We live in a semi-rural town on the Darling Downs (Qld, Australia), it roughly is just under 1/2 an acre.  We currently have 5 chooks, yes not really a farm yet but as you will see we are working towards that almighty pie in the sky of being self sufficent. 

Please drop in regulary to see our journey, as crazy as it maybe!

Emily

One thought on “The first one

  1. Hi Emily,
    I am pleased you are interested in Bees; they are so vital to our future survival. Did you see that article on Sixty Minutes recently?
    I am Secretary of Northside Beekeepers Assoc. at Kallangur but there are some in different places.
    The first thing I suggest is contact DPI for nearest Clubs, & also contact nearest Council for registered swarm collectors; they will show you how easy & cheap it can be to get a nuclear hive going, but over winter I would buy up some empty (or new hive equipment ready)
    Its a fascinating hobby & any nearby beekeeper will show you some aspects to it as you find time to link up with them doing something. Regards, Ken Beer

Comments are closed.